Rattling Sound on Acceleration From Stop

sixtus

I apologize if this is just one of those things that are known about this bike (or bikes in general)... I'm pretty new to riding, so I'm still learning.

This is my third bike, and this issue didn't happen with my first two bikes (Ninja 250R and 650R), but with this bike, when first accelerating from a dead stop, there's sort of a rattling / almost grinding noise depending on the clutch/throttle ratio.

It seems to happen more when I left off the clutch quicker while accelerating from a dead stop... not so much when I ease off it very slowly. The place I bought it from (bought it brand new) said that it's normal when I showed it to them in person... they said you just hear things with naked bikes that you don't with faired ones. I might buy that to an extent, but I'm pretty sure if my first two bikes had been making a noise similar to this I would have heard it even though they had fairings.

I wish it were easier to record sound and post it online for people to hear what I'm referring to, and maybe I'll resort to that if it bothers me enough, but does anyone know the noise I'm referring to, and know if it's normal or something I should be worried about?

H

Hoover

NOT NORMAL.
Do you have another dealer you can go to? I don't hear anything like you are describing and never have on any bike.
Do you have any riding buddies that can ride it for you and give you a better idea?

Hereward

Not normal!
If I stick it in say 3rd and pull away from standstill, or similarly if I accelerate hard and I'm in too high a gear for the rpm (below 2000) I can hear and feel the bike "bog down" but thats simply a laboured exhaust note and a tell tale vibration for a second or two as the bike picks up rpms........I do not hear ANY mechanical noises such as rattleing or grinding......I don't hear labouring the engine nor do I hear it giving the clutch some stick or riding the clutch..........take it to another dealers!

Black Widow