Bad choice for a first Bike

F

fz8kansas

The link below is for a video of why you should start on a low power bike when first learning to ride. This guy may have set a record. The rider who made the video is a local rider who has her own Vlog. I sometimes watch her vids to see if I can figure out where she is riding. Enjoy! I am still learning to insert a link, sorry if it does not work the way it should. I will figure it out.

[ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=42lfUiehqf0]GSXR 600. First Bike. Totaled in 300 feet. - YouTube[/ame]

randyka

this is why the insurance on these bikes is too damn high! we really should copy the european licensing process

Rotaryknight

glad the dude survived falling down there....but man I feel sorry for that bike. Didnt even had a chance to live its life...

My friend bought a R6 and he has never rode a bike at all. But he had me and many other friends that do ride to teach him how to be safe and not die. I rode the bike home from teh dealership and we went to a parking lot to teach him.

alexk

Weekend Rider
I'll fess up... I actually did something similar.

I was at a dealership test riding for my first bike (M License in hand, MSF course completed). I rode one bike (Buell Blast) in the lot for 20 minutes, liked it, got a feel for it, but thought the clutch wasn't right, so I asked to take a second bike of the same model but a different year up and down the lot to compare.

Climbed on the second bike, but no matter what I did, it stalled when I tried to take off. Each time, I gave it a little more gas and a little softer clutch. Finally, instead of stalling, the bike went CLANG and rocketed off.

I had no show of making the turn at that point, so I straightened up, rode it into an empty show tent, then hit the clutch and brakes. CLANG. Rear wheel locked up, and I highsided the bitch at 15mph.