Removing A/F Sensor from exhaust.

b-eock

OK. So I'm having some custom work done all at once and I would like to know if there wouldn be a problem with removing the A/F ratio sensor in the exhaust?

alexk

Weekend Rider
That would be the O2 sensor.

While I'm not an expert on our ECU or the PCV, I can look at it from an automotive perspective and say it would be very bad(tm) on a car.

On an OBD I/II system (are bikes OBD?), once the engine warms up, it operates in closed-loop mode, in which the engine continuously adjusts the fuel mix to ensure its as lean as possible (to save fuel) whilst avoiding detonation (to save the engine). While there are air/fuel maps in automotive ECUs, the fine tune is done by the O2 sensor - there are always differences in MAF current requirements, fuel rail pressures, and injector tolerances, but an O2 sensor will always send a cross at the same ratio.

Hence, at least on a car, removing the O2 sensor would cause a check engine light, massive amounts of fuel burn to avoid engine damage, a drop in mpg, the fouling of a catalytic converter, and a black coating on the back of the car.

I can't see our bikes as being that much different. =\

Stangrrr

Weekend Rider
Are you asking if you can delete the O2 sensor? As Alex explains above, you can't leave it off, it's required by the computer to adjust the fuel parameters (maybe even timing?) when in closed loop mode. Aftermarket exhausts should have a "bung" on them already to reinstall the O2 sensor. If not, one can be welded on and the O2 sensor can be re-installed.

If you're asking about difficulties in removing it from the stock exhaust so it can be moved to an aftermarket exhaust, there is a slim chance that it would be difficult, but since our bikes are only a few years old, chances are it will come off easily. If it is difficult to remove, a little heat applied with a propane torch will help it come off easier.

Rabbitman109

Lumen Junkie