fuel wiki

djcecil

Now i know more than a lot of people about fuel, but i am certain there are many that know more than me. i have been delvering fuel for almost 8 years, and have been at the same company using our trucks for our stations so i know 100% about the fuel i put in the bike, so here we go (i am in middle TN so there are variances depending on where you are and how close you are to a major city where fuel has higher rvp, and or reformulated gas). there used to be conventional gas (clear, no ethanol), now we see at the pump gasahol (10% ethanol). now ethanol raised the octane by @ 3 points, so to get an actual 87 the gas now is cbob (google it) that is 84 octane (+ethanol = 87 octane). there is no such thing as a downgraded premium, so we have 93 (plus the eth = @ 96 octane) now i was following manual and just using 87 for months, the other day filled the tank to top with 2.5 gallons of prem to see if there was a diff. there absolutly was more power, and in work commute, plus the other day of running around the hills and corners testing suspension settings i had a full round of riding. normally gps tells me this riding is around 40mpg. the 1/2 prem tank gave 47.5 mpg. leaving gps off while riding would make it worse so this is an actual #. in the tank now is straight premium (+10% alcohol) and i will painfully go out and ride the curvey roads fast to get accurate data. i never ride to try and get the best or worse mileage, i ride to enjoy and use the gps just because it has that function in it. i babble all this info to help possibly explain why you might get better mileage using a different grade as the cbob is obviously not the bikes favorite flavor.

djcecil

at least typing i do not repeat myself, so be glad this was not a face to face babble ha!

there is that damn enter key!

gunbunny